The Evolution Meme Has Got Me!

Well, I’ve been tagged. And they say atheists never have any fun.

The evolution meme has got me, so the idea is I have to cite 5 posts of mine that demonstrate the evolution of my blog.

1.   My very first post: My Gloat. I originally started posting on MySpace and the blog was just going to consist of anything I felt like ranting about. It was intended to be mainly light-hearted. As you can see, it is purely about football (American readers, read: soccer. Don’t get me wrong America, I think you’ve got a great nation but your bastardisation of the English language is hideous. You’ve got as much respect for pronunciation as Scientology has got for a pauper .)

 

2.   My Job Offer to Creationists (I’m not counting that!) was a semi-humorous illustration of how absurd creationism is. I was still trying to keep a jocular nature to my blog but this was also something I felt strongly about and I felt I made my points very well without getting too serious. This trend of moving away from piss-taking and swearing, towards serious issues would continue: A post that I had intended to write for many years was my de-conversion story. I was invited to do so by Ebonmuse after I discovered his brilliant website soon after I de-converted. There are many sources I have to thank for my illumination and inspiration to write, Ebonmuse is one of them. This was an article that would have to be personal, intense, detailed, and ultimately incredibly optimistic, but also show the dark spell I went through where I was very much suicidal. This article was My Fall From Grace. It became easily my most-read article to date (it has since been overtaken by others.) This article was probably a turning point in my blog. My traffic boomed ever since and with so many regular readers I felt a responsibility to leave out the trivial and personal. What I mean is, talking about my day or personal hobbies was out of the question. If people were going to give serious time to read what I had to say, I knew I should provide good material and with an element of professionalism.

 

3.   My Evanescence was a lovely title for an article if I do so myself. For one, it continued the nomenclature I had adopted (from Scrubs) for starting nearly all my articles with the word “My”, and also tied in nicely with the title of my blog itself! Two, Evanescence is a beautiful poetic word and it described perfectly the idea I wanted to convey: the transient and ephemeral nature of human life. Rather than be a depressing thought, this can be powerfully incentivising. There is no time to waste! Our lives are so short, so fleeting, that no day should be wasted! Instead of just ranting or destroying religion, I know I needed to include more humanist themes in my blog, and this was a progression in that direction.

 

4.   Why Do I Bother? doesn’t start with “My”. This is a trend that continues; if it sounds right so be it, but I decided not to detract from an otherwise good title by forcing “My” for effect. This is a serious semi-angry diatribe about religion and the harm it causes. More importantly though, it’s directed to ignorant fence-sitters or the politically-correct who are afraid to put their money where their mouth is and speak up, or even worse those who think the topic is boring (prompted by a silly comment I received telling me to stop posting long boring articles about religion). It is impassioned and forceful, and something I couldn’t have written when I first started.

 

5.   Criticising religion and faith, and promoting critical thinking and rationalism will always be primary aims of my blog. But how to capture the other end of the scale, the joy of rational thinking; the liberation of atheism; the beauty of humanity? Inspired by the great man (who I’ve met) Richard Dawkins, I wanted to express mankind’s place in the scale and timeframe of the vast universe. I wanted to write something as fascinating and fun to read as some of Dawkins’ work, and doing the research for it myself was very enjoyable. I also wanted it to show a greater move towards humanism on my blog. It’s all well and good destroying faith and teaching people to think logically, but what about hope? What about meaning to life and purpose? Humanism does help here, and I hope For the One Life We Have illustrates how we should all see things; as they really are. But rather than be a cause for concern, we should be inspired to make the most of our lives, those of the people we love, and those of the human race itself.

The 5 posts I’ve listed hopefully show the evolution of my blog: from capricious irrelevant joking to semi-serious rants, to de-conversion stories and impassioned attacks on religion, to explaining what atheism and humanism really means, to the real meaning to life and hope we all have.

My blog is not monolithic and the topics will always vary, as will the tone. But I hope now my blog has evolved to a point where I can capture all the moods of what has gone before and where I’ve arrived at; something that comes with experience, well-received praise and criticism, and regular readers without whom of course, no blog would exist.

I tag:

Scientia Natura

Cogita Tute

A Veritable Plethora

Leitmotif

Pink Prozac

7 Responses to “The Evolution Meme Has Got Me!”

  1. nullifidian Says:

    Gah! I’ve just posted one, but I didn’t get the bit about the 5 posts, so I just splurged! :-/

  2. Shalini Says:

    I’ll get right down to it when I have some free time….there are simply not enough hours in a day!

  3. Spanish Inquisitor Says:

    I just got an email with the title “My Snoring” and thought “Oh good! evanescent has a new post! Gotta check it out.”

    Imagine my disappointment when I got here. 😉

  4. evanescent Says:

    Hehe, fear not, I’ll be posting something soon My Friend! 😉

  5. Jim Says:

    Many people, when they can’t provide evidence for their theory, adopt the strategy of falsehood. Such is the case with many of those who have fallen victim to the propaganda of renowned evolutionists.
    If evolutionists want to end the arguments all they have to do is, get their brilliant heads together and assemble a ‘simple’ living cell. ‘Surely they have a very great amount of knowledge about what is inside the ‘simple’ cell.

    And after all, shouldn’t all the combined Intelligence of all the worlds scientist be able the do what chance encounters with random chemical collisions, without an instruction manual, accomplished about 4 billion years ago,according to the evolutionists estimation. Without any intelligence at all available to help them these ‘simple ‘ cells miraculously created themselves into a living entity. Surely then today’s evolutionists scientists should be able to make us a ‘simple’ cell.

    If it weren’t so pitiful it would be humorous, that intelligent people have swallowed the evolution mythology.

    Beyond doubt, the main reason people believe in evolution is that sources they admire, say it is so. It would pay for these people to do a thorough examination of the flood of evidence CONTRARY to evolution which is readily available: Try answersingenesis.org. The evolutionists should honestly examine the SUPPOSED evidence ‘FOR’ evolution for THEMSELVES.

    Build us a cell, from scratch, with the required raw material, that is with NO cell material, just the ‘raw’ stuff, and the argument is over. But if the scientists are unsuccessful, perhaps they should try Mother Earth’s recipe, you know, the one they claim worked the first time about 4 billion years ago, so they say. All they need to do is to gather all the chemicals that we know are essential for life, pour them into a large clay pot and stir vigorously for a few billion years, and EUREKA, LIFE!

    Oh, you don’t believe the ‘original’ Mother Earth recipe will work? You are NOT alone, Neither do I, and MILLIONS of others!
    Please don’t swallow the lies they tell about the ‘first life’ problem, scientists are falling all over themselves to make a living cell. Many have admitted publicly that it is a monumental problem. And, is many years away from happening, if ever. Logical people understand this problem and have rightly concluded that an Intelligent Designer was absolutely necessary. Think of it this way, if all the brilliant scientists on earth can’t do it, how on earth can anyone believe that it happened by accident?????

  6. tobe38 Says:

    @ Jim

    If you’re gonna cut and paste a ream of creationist crap, the least you could do is give us a link to the original source.

  7. Shalini Says:

    Don’t bother with this troll. He copied this spam on about ten threads at my blog, totally ignoring the rebuttals to his absurd ravings.


Leave a Reply

