My small collection of quotes – Sun 18th Mar 07

I don’t usually like to do this as I prefer to produce my own material (apart from the odd plagiarised Spaced joke), but I’ve came across a few great quotes today on Myspace from people’s profiles and thought I’d show a few.

This is great one to answer a lot of people with. I’ve often been asked “why bother?” or why do I feel passionate about atheism and why am I so opposed to religion, as if atheists are going out of their way to cause trouble and upset people!…

“Perhaps atheists will spend a lot less time talking about god when we have our own meeting places on every other corner, when our organizations are tax-exempt, when our slogans are printed on your money, when we elect a president (or any other leader) who understands science, when those idiotic little fish disappear, when organ donor cards no longer have a blank space for religion, when holidays commemorate great ideas instead of mythological beings, when newspapers devote a weekly section to atheism, when people stop saying “God bless you” every time we sneeze, when people stop saying “It’s a Miracle” every time someone survives something life threatening, when we open a motel room drawer and find a copy of Stephen Hawking’s “A Brief History Of Time”, or Richard Dawkins “The GOD Delusion” when pimple-faced kids stop coming to our houses on Saturday mornings to ‘save’ us, when….” — Myspace user: Friendlyrealist__Mark

This next one is very funny. I found it as a jpeg so can’t credit the author unfortunately:

Taoism: Shit happens

Hindusin: This shit happened before

Confuciansim: Confucius says: Shit happens

Buddhism: It is only the illusion of shit happening

Zen: What is the sound of shit happening?

Islam: If shit happens, it is the will of Allah

Jehovah’s Witnesses: Knock, knock: ‘Shit happens’

Agnosticism: Maybe shit happens, and maybe it doesn’t

Protestantism: Shit won’t happen if I work harder

Catholicism: Why does shit always happen to me?

Televangelism: Send money or shit will happen to you

Rastafarian: Smoke that shit

Atheism: There is no such thing as shit

I’m quoting the below because so many times I hear from theists “even Einstein believed in God!”

“I do not believe in a personal God and I have never denied this but have expressed it clearly. If something is in me which can be called religion than it is the unbounded admiration for the structure of the world so far as our science can reveal it.” “I cannot imagine a God who rewards and punishes the objects of his creation, whose purposes are modeled after our own — a God, in short, who is but a reflection of human frailty. Neither can I believe that the individual survives the death of his body, although feeble souls harbor such thoughts through fear or ridiculous egotism.” “I do not believe in the immortality of the individual, and I consider ethics to be an exclusively human concern with no superhuman authority behind it.” “If people are good only because they fear punishment, and hope for a reward, then we are a sorry lot indeed.” -Albert Einstein, German-born American physicist

That’s all for now.

One Response to “My small collection of quotes – Sun 18th Mar 07”

  1. cheyenne Says:

    the top one is awesome.
    i think ive read the second one before.. it funny: )


Leave a Reply

